American Sniper

American_Sniper_posterMovies are never to be pitted against one another.
Each film should stand on it’s own; each a separate and unique entity, rising and falling solely on the strengths of its qualities, or lack thereof.
On occasion, a film comes along which possesses every quality that creates greatness, and automatically places itself as the “Best”.
The same is true of the opposite.

I bring this up because I do not usually like mentioning other movies but the one at hand.
After watching American Sniper, however, I feel compelled but to talk about two similar, if infinitely better pictures.

The first is Zero Dark Thirty, a superb war drama that remains one of the finest I’ve yet seen.
The other is Full Metal Jacket, which I won’t say much about for thousands upon thousands of words have already been written, and what good could I add to them?

I bring them up because they are what this movie aspires to be.
It fails.
It fails so miserably and spectacularly so, that I left the cinema upset at what I just had witnessed.
There’s a scene in which one of Kyle’s girlfriend’s tells him, shortly after cheating on him, “Don’t you get it? I do this to get attention!”

Is the audience really that dimwitted, that we need to be told what’s going on, when a simple look at Chris Kyle, as played wondrously by Bradley Cooper, would have informed us of the same?

After the up tenth time of seeing a fabricated marital discussion and what was supposed to represent a moral dilemma, I arrived at the conclusion that yes, this movie does think me the fool.

And while that may be so, today, I won’t give it the pleasure.

C-

One thought on “American Sniper

  1. Reblogged this on Liberalism is Trust Fucked with Prudence. Conservatism is Distrust Tainted with Fear and commented:
    Chris Kyle so is ‘American Sniper’ legacy is dead. The scumbag killed 160 Muslim elders, women and children and eventually popped as ROADKILL. Mediawhores buried how and who shot Chris Kyle dead. I just wondered how Kyle’s horny whore bitched at the Oscars on Sunday holding murderers’ god tags. I am mused how a legendary Star as dumb as Clint Eastwood go down the history as that Jackass Director who burned one Billion Dollar of Taxpayers’ Money on Movie Trash. ‘American Sniper’ grossed $430 million worldwide and was nominated for Best Picture Oscar losing out to Birdman. It won the award for Best Fart Editing.
    Clint Eastwood lost me. I regret every moment wasted watching Bradley Cooper and his movies. I need a refund.
    Their ain’t any third party proof of redneck trailer park white trash alleged in American Sniper: Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History is memoir by American United States Navy SEAL Chris Kyle, written with Scott McEwen and Jim DeFelice. With 255 kills, 160 of them officially confirmed by Pentagon. My Ass. Kyle is the deadliest marksman in U.S. military history so was Bradley Cooper.

    Like

Share your thoughts

